

Special Meeting of Council For the Purpose of Swearing in Councillors Elect

October 30, 2024

PRESENT	Councillors Elect:	Sandra Garden-Cole Norval Mitchell Eldon Hebb Walter Tingley Keith Rhyno Cecil Dixon	Carl MacPhee Michael Perry Elie Moussa Craig Merriam Eleanor Roulston
STAFF	 Ms. Kim Ramsay, Chief Administrative Officer Mr. Adam Clarkson, Director of Corporate Services Ms. Wade Tattrie, Director of Finance Ms. Alana Tapper, Director of Parks, Recreation & Culture Mr. John Woodford, Director of Planning Ms. Juliann Cashen, Communications Officer Mr. Tom Gignac, Manager of Information Systems Ms. Sheralee MacEwan, Assistant Municipal Clerk Ms. Jessica van den Hof, Business & Legislative Administrator 		

CALL TO ORDER

The Municipal Clerk called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m.

LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

The Municipal Clerk respectfully acknowledged that East Hants is in Mi'kma'ki and the District of Sipekne'katik, the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi'kmaq people. East Hants further acknowledges the 50 African Nova Scotian communities whose 400-year history have contributed to the provinces culture, history and legacies. We are all Treaty people.

MOMENT OF SILENT CONTEMPLATION

A moment of silent contemplation was observed.

EXPLANATION OF PROCEEDINGS FOR THIS MEETING OF COUNCIL

The Municipal Clerk provided an explanation of proceedings.

DECLARATION OF ELECTION RESULTS

The Municipal Clerk read the List of Councillors Elect by District.

- District 1 Sandra Garden-Cole
- District 2 Norval Mitchell
- District 3 Eldon Hebb
- District 4 Carl MacPhee
- District 5 Keith Rhyno
- District 6 Craig Merriam

OATH OF OFFICE

- District 7 Walter Tingley
- District 8 Michael Perry
- District 9 Elie Moussa
- District 10 Cecil Dixon
- District 11 Eleanor Roulston

All Councillors stood and repeated the Oath of Office in unison, signed the Oath document and returned to the Municipal Clerk for the record.

CODE OF CONDUCT

All Councillors signed the East Hants Elected Officials Code of Conduct document and returned to the Municipal Clerk for the record.

ELECTION OF THE WARDEN

The Municipal Clerk reviewed the process for selection of Warden and Deputy Warden as outlined in the "Council Procedural Policy" which was available to all members of Council.

NOMINATIONS

Norval Mitchell and Sandra Garden-Cole nominated Eleanor Roulston - accepted nomination.

Cecil Dixon and Eldon Hebb nominated Walter Tingley - accepted nomination.

Elie Moussa and Eldon Hebb nominated Michael Perry - accepted nomination.

Nominations were sought three more times. There were no further nominations.

C24(345) On the motion of Councillors Rhyno and Mitchell: October Moved that nominations cease.

MOTION CARRIED

The Municipal Clerk recommended Sheralee MacEwan and Jessica van den Hof as Scrutineers for the ballot.

C24(346) On the motion of Councillors Rhyno and Dixon:
 October Moved that Sheralee MacEwan and Jessica van den Hof be Scrutineers for the vote of Warden and Deputy Warden.

MOTION CARRIED

The nominees for Warden each addressed Council.

Ballots were cast and votes counted.

Following the voting process, the Municipal Clerk declared Eleanor Roulston the Warden and presented her with the Chain of Office.

C24(347) On motion of Councillors Mitchell and Perry:October *Moved that all ballots be destroyed*.

[30:00]

MOTION CARRIED

Ballots were destroyed in the presence of Council.

ACCEPTANCE COMMENTS BY THE WARDEN

Warden Eleanor Roulston made her acceptance comments and thanked Council.

The Warden assumed the Chair.

ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY WARDEN

NOMINATIONS

Michael Perry and Keith Rhyno nominated Carl MacPhee - accepted nomination.

Walter Tingley and Michael Perry nominated Sandra Garden-Cole - declined nomination.

Nominations were sought three times. There were no further nominations.

C24(347) On the motion of Councillors Hebb and Mitchell:October Moved that nominations cease.

MOTION CARRIED

Warden Roulston declared Carl MacPhee as Deputy Warden for a one-year term.

ACCEPTANCE COMMENTS BY THE DEPUTY WARDEN

Deputy Warden Carl MacPhee made his acceptance comments and thanked Council.

SELECTION OF NOMINATING COMMITTEE

C24(348) On the motion of Councillors Tingley and Hebb: [35:00] October Moved that the Nominating Committee be appointed as follows: Warden Eleanor Roulston Deputy Warden Carl MacPhee Councillor Norval Mitchell Councillor Michael Perry Councillor Sandra Garden-Cole

MOTION CARRIED

It was agreed that the Nominating Committee would meet and report their Committee appointment recommendations to Council at the November Regular Meeting of Council.

COUNCIL MEETING SCHEDULE ADOPTION

C24(349)On the motion of Councillors Moussa and Tingley:[36:00]OctoberMoved that the calendar for the upcoming 2024 Executive and Council meetings
be accepted as presented:

- Executive Committee November 12, 2024, and November 14 Extension if needed
- Council November 20, 2024, and November 21 Extension if needed
- Executive Committee December 10, 2024, and December 12 Extension if needed
- Council December 18, 2024, and December 19 Extension if needed

MOTION CARRIED

LETTER OF SUPPORT FOR FEDERAL FUNDING: CAO

The CAO reviewed the request regarding the Lantz Recreation Society, as there is a potential for Federal funding. This site has been identified as a strategic asset for Municipality and the expansion would serve the community well.

C24(350) On the motion of Councillors Tingley and Garden-Cole:

[40:00]

October That Council write a letter of support for the Lantz Recreation Society expansion Tapper project indicating that East Hants will work with Lantz Recreation Society on development of this strategic recreation asset for the region and a related operating model; and, that the municipality has open space funds and land in kind to donate to this project should senior level government funding be awarded to expand the site.

MOTION CARRIED

SELECTION OF DELEGATION - 2024 NSFM FALL CONFERENCE

C24(351)On the motion of Councillors Dixon and Perry:[44:00]OctoberMoved that the delegation to the NSFM Fall Conference include the CAO, Warden
Roulston, Deputy Warden MacPhee, and Councillors Tingley and Mitchell.MacEwan

MOTION CARRIED

TRAINING OPPORTUNITY - FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT FOR ELECTED OFFICIALS - AMANS

This recommended training is to take place in January 2025. Councillors are asked to [45:00] consider attendance.

DMAH NEW COUNCIL ORIENTATION SESSIONS

C24(352) On motion of Councillors Mitchell and Hebb:

[47:00]

October

Moved to ratify approval for those attending the Councillor Orientation sessions hosted by the Province (DMAH) on November 4 and 5, 2024, at the Halifax Convention Centre (Deputy Warden MacPhee and Councillors Dixon, Merriam, and Tingley).

MOTION CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

C24(353) On the motion of Councillors Hebb and Dixon:October Moved that Council adjourn at 7:50 p.m.

MOTION CARRIED

Approved By: Sheralee Mitchell-MacEwan, Assistant Municipal Clerk Date: November 6, 2024

Approved By: Eleanor Roulston, Warden Date:

/Jv